25 Years Old

And To Getting "Better"

I have 3 sons. And my eldest, and I say he’s my first love, is turning 25. For a 25 year old, he is closer to me now than before. I am happier knowing how it affects me in a way and prouder of the mom I am. Because for some, turning 25 is more like an ending of sorts, since they would leave the nest more often than before and strike out on their own.

His life started out not as easy as his siblings. His earlier childhood was full of trauma, of tears, of endings and of new, uncertain beginnings. We have struggled together, yes and came out, with scars, not unscathed, but healed, powerful and strong.

My son, you are my inspiration in ways you can’t imagine. I know you are learning everyday, stumbling everyday but I also know that you are hard, soft, strong, and weak altogether. Always protect our circle and yours. And always try to better yourself and take better care of yourself. Better is always, always… better. I would take “better” anytime than just “ok”.

You are becoming your own and for that I am prouder. Be a better son, a better “kuya”, a better friend, a better entrepreneur. You don’t have a choice because I will always be that “voice” you hear in your head. We love you and to a better year ahead!

Join the conversation

or to participate.